Happy Birthday to my wonderful DS

I have to brag. I made this cake for DS’s birthday yesterday. Normally when I make cakes, I make the icing from scratch. I’ve made some beautiful shower cakes, birthday cakes, baby shower cakes. I love to use fondant, but normally use regular frosting. I used to charge for my cakes to bring in a litte bit of extra money. They were nice.

Yesterday I took a shortcut and used frosting from the grocery store. I’ve been having some health issues and pretty much rest all day, but yesterday my headache wasn’t that bad and I was able to get some stuff done. (I lost vision in my right eye again, so I have to take it very easy). I’m so glad I did that because I wouldn’t have had such a, um, wonderful result to this cake? Yeah, that’s it. A wonderful result. So, I made this beautiful cake for my DS. So glad this child is the way he is….he appreciates everything. Are you ready?

I betcha you’re jealous that you haven’t made a cake like THIS for your kid who is turning 9. It’s okay. They’ll get over it. 😀
Honestly, I don’t know what happened. I have made cakes for YEARS and they have always turned out beautifully well. This year, obviously, it didn’t. I baked the two layers in the morning, then frosted it in the afternoon. It was fine until about 4pm when all of a sudden, it just collapsed!
My son didn’t care. I did, but he could have cared less. To make things worse, I had bought candles for his cake and DH used them for something else and didn’t tell me. So we used a VOTIVE for the poor child to blow out. It was a grape votive. I owe this child BIG TIME.

And here he is after the whole ordeal:


This child has the biggest heart in the world. He is always thinking of others and makes sure that things are fair for the little guy. I’m very blessed to be his Mama.

Happy Birthday you wonderful person you!

(I have edited this post about 20 times trying to get the paragraphs right. I don’t know why they are falling the way they are, but oh well…)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Birthday to my wonderful DS

  1. Traci says:

    It’s awful yet hilarious all in one! I know that you probably felt really bad but what a sweet boy you have!

  2. Michelle says:

    Thanks Tracilouwho! He is a sweet boy, though lately he’s been picking on his brother. Grrrr. 😀

Leave a Reply

