SS Blog Challenge #16 Perfect Picture

The challenge this week is to post a picture of someone you love. It can’t be just any picture, it should be one of those pictures that you look at and you really see something about that person.

This picture was taken last summer in July while I was downstate taking care of my parents. I had the kids with me and we decided to celebrate DD and DS’s birthdays. Their birthdays are six weeks apart, so it’s easier on the family for us to celebrate them together.

This is my DD. I don’t know why I like it so much. Maybe it’s because her hair is all messy, or because she’s concentrating on getting ready to blow out the candles on her cake. Who knows. I think it points out her beauty.

This girl is so special to me. We were swimming that day at Aunt Dani’s house and even though the water was freezing, she and her brother had a wonderful time. She also was so sweet to her younger cousins that day. This picture doesn’t really “speak” to me other than it reminds me of how perfect a creation she is. I wouldn’t change a thing about her.

Here’s another couple of favorite pictures. DD was very attached to her hair, but then she heard of Locks of Love and decided she didn’t need her hair anymore. We went to the hair salon and she became a young lady within minutes. Both of us loved the new haircut and she was very proud that she could do something to help someone in need.

It’s been about 9 months since she’s cut her hair and every time I see a picture of her with long hair it kind of shocks me. It seems like forever since she’s gotten her hair cut. Short hair definitely becomes her.

Tonight I’m feeling very bad as DD has a band concert tonight with a percussion solo. I couldn’t wait to go tonight because I wanted to see her play AND I just love how their band sounds. It was also going to be in one of the local churches with amazing acoustics and scenery. It was going to be a beautiful night.

I started my new meds today. Within a few hours of taking them, I was vomiting, dizzy, extremely exhausted and doubled over. DH had told me that this could happen, so it wasn’t a surprise. It just hit at an awful time. DS was supposed to go to Science Olympiad, DD has this concert and I was invited to a purse party. No big deal on the purse party, but I wanted to go. I especially wanted to go to this concert.

When we got home from school, both the kids made me lay down on the couch. One of them offered to make me a snack. The other brought me something to drink. DS was very sweet about missing Science Olympiad and DD told me that she wanted me to rest and she was “totally fine” with me missing her concert. She told me she’ll make Dad tape it for me.

I can’t believe I’m missing such an important event. I feel very bad about it, yet I also feel that I have the best and most gracious kids in the world. Both of them stepped up to the plate and won’t allow me to feel guilt about messing up their day. I’m very fortunate.

I still feel guilty but I’m so thankful for the three precious gifts God gave me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SS Blog Challenge #16 Perfect Picture

  1. CloverGirl says:

    Oh, Michelle, you’ve raised such wonderful kids!!! I’m sorry your medication made you feel sick, but I hope it works! Truly, you are my inspiration. You deal with so much, and you do it with such grace, as if it’s so easy. I mean you’ll say Oh, I lost my sight again…but I have to go do laundry and clean the house. You’re amazing. Keep up the great work. I’m praying that you’ll start feeling better soon!!

Leave a Reply

