Shampoo…rinse…repeat.

Someone asked me the other day what I did for a living. I told her that I stay at home and take care of the kids. She wasn’t impressed. I’m not going to go in to what she does for a living (pretty impressive), but let’s just say I felt about 5 inches tall when we were done with our conversation.

You see as a child I had all of these dreams of things I would be when I grew up. I would be a missionary or an archeologist, possibly a teacher, a scientist or a musician. I knew that someday I’d be a mom, but I figured that it would be my side job, not my REAL job.

So here I am a full time mom and my days are filled with the typical routine of motherhood. Shampoo…rinse…repeat – that’s my life. Get up, feed the kids breakfast (if they haven’t already done it themselves), make the bed, shower and get ready, weigh in on Wii Fit, go for a walk or jog (trying to jog now), do chores, fix lunch, maybe take the kids to the beach if they aren’t in school, quickly tidy up the house before DH gets home from work, cook and eat dinner, clean up after dinner, get kiddos off to bed, play sudoku, hit the hay. Of course I’m toting the kids off to their sports, but rarely does my schedule change. Shampoo…rinse…repeat…that’s my life.

Things sure do change when you have kids. I had dreams of studying abroad – even had a chance to go to Oxford University for religious studies, but decided to get married instead. DH had the chance to study medicine in Portugal, but he turned that down too. Sure, I’ll never be that missionary, archeologist, teacher, scientist or musician, but I am my kids’ mom and there’s nothing better than washing dishes and getting a hug or kiss out of the blue “just because.” And even though I’m not a missionary, an archeologist, a teacher, a scientist or a musician, I do make sure my children know Christ personally through prayer and action, dig in the Lake Michigan sand to look for “artifacts,” teach them not only their ABCs but how to get through life without majorly annoying others, do fun experiments with them (diet coke and mentos anyone?) and sing lullabies or silly songs to them daily. Sure, I don’t have the most glamorous job in the world, but do hope I have the most meaningful one….

Shampoo…rinse…repeat. That’s my life and I’m okay with that.

Now, off to help my youngest with his “secret mission,” take the kids to swim team practice and get dinner in the oven before DH gets home. Shampoo…rinse…repeat.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shampoo…rinse…repeat.

  1. Lee says:

    I do believe we do the most important job in the world … and Michelle, I believe you’ve found your voice 😉

  2. CloverGirl says:

    This is a fantastic post, Michelle. I’m so glad you like yo shampoo…rinse…repeat – because your kids will look back and have fond memories of you for it.

Leave a Reply

