Sheepishly saying hello…..

Hi!

Yeah, it’s been almost two years since I’ve blogged last. I’m so sorry. It’s been one of those years. There’s so much that has happened since February of 2009 that I’m sure I’m not going to be able to list it all, but here goes.

Bad stuff:

Death – we’ve lost several family members. My Uncle Stanley, Boris’ Grandfather, my Grandmother, Boris’ Aunt, the wonderful and influential priest who married us – Fr. Overmann. It’s been a sad 18 months and I’m hoping we are done with death for a long time.

Flooding – my inlaws’ house flooded. So much destruction. Thankfully it was clean water, so we were able to rescue many of their pictures. Still it was a flood and caused a ton of damage.

Sickness – my sister and best friend was diagnosed with Myasthenia Gravis. She’s had many issues with it. I believe she was diagnosed in 2009. She had her thymus removed and is doing well, but I still worry about her. She’s my best friend!

Just last week I was finally diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. I had been sick since Thanksgiving with an awful cold and Boris finally put me on an antibiotic in early December. I started feeling an odd sensation in my torso – like I was sunburned, so he pulled me off of it. Went to see my nurse practitioner and long story short, saw the neurologist because my legs were going numb and tingly – all of the way from my toes to my waist.

I had an MRI done of my spine and it’s confirmed – I now have been diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. I will be starting Copaxone as soon as I can get an appointment with a nurse to show me how to inject myself. The drugs are currently in my fridge just waiting to be used.

I’ll be honest, I’m scared out of my mind, but I’m trying to remind myself that everyone has hurdles. Some are bigger than others, and this is my hurdle that I will have to jump. Hell, it feels like Mount Everest right now.

Remember when I was told my chances for MS were 30%? Oh how I long for those days…

But, it is what it is. I can either dwell on it and cry, or suck it up and move on. We only live once, so I may as well make the best of it. My sister says it perfectly, I may have MS, but MS does not have me.

On with the Good news:

God loves me!

We have a new home. Oh my it’s beautiful. We have a pool, a beach volleyball court, a fire pit – I love it. I still need to paint it and it’s not finished (needs carpeting on the stairs and the bar area and bathrooms need to be finished), but other than that it’s just lovely. We love it here.

God loves me. 🙂

Boris has been selected to be Chief of Staff. He sees this as no big deal, but I’m proud of him.

My kids are awesome.

So, that’s pretty much all that’s going on now. 2010 sucked. I’m ready for 2011. It’ll be a huge change for sure, and who knows what life has in store for me, but I’ll make the best of it and try to find humor in all things.

Ciao and Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in Multiple Sclerosis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

