January 9, 2011 – Sunday

Yesterday was our 17th wedding anniversary. I’m a lucky gal! Who would have though on our wedding day that 17 years later we’d celebrate it with my first shot of Copaxone, me taking a 2 hour nap, him coaching 6th grade basketball and us both being in bed by 10:00? Yep – we are party animals! What an exciting life we lead!

It’s been a week and a day since I’ve been on the Swank diet and I’m doing very well. I haven’t cheated at all and I even lost 3 pounds. Of course, it looks like that’s all I may lose – I’m eating between 700 and 1400 calories a day but the scale has gone UP since our last weigh-in day on Friday. Of course that’s my luck!

Yesterday, my nurse Laurie came to train me on how to give myself a shot. I had a different nurse assigned to me, but she never contacted me. This gal did after me calling Shared Solutions twice. SS called the first nurse two times (her name is Denell) but she never called either one of us back. They weren’t too happy about that. But, they called me back and assigned a second nurse – Laurie. She was great.

She came at around 11:00am yesterday morning and went through everything I needed to know about my medicine, Copaxone. Then she showed me how to use the auto-injector. It was actually kind of fun. (I was very nervous beforehand and even took a xanax just in case). So, we got to use fake shots to shoot into a sponge and then I shot myself up.

It HURT! But I survived. I had a big round circle around the injection site and even today it looks odd, but I’ll survive. We shot the upper part of my right arm.

Today Boris helped me with my hip. I couldn’t get the shot to lie at a right angle, so he did it for me. It wasn’t that bad. Tomorrow I’ll do my right thigh.

Sounds fun, doesn’t it? Aren’t you jealous?

Here it is, around 7:30pm and I’m exhausted. I even took a two hour nap today and I’m STILL exhausted!

Tomorrow I am hoping I’ll be able to walk on the treadmill or ride on the bike for just 15 minutes. Just 15 minutes is all I want. If I can do that, I’ll be very happy.

I also need to figure out what we are going to eat tomorrow. I’m getting sick of chicken. Maybe I’ll try to figure out a vegan dish. Boris is a much better cook than I am, but he already does so much around the house, so I need to figure out what we are going to eat tomorrow.

I’d like to run to Meijer to see if they have tortillas I can eat. The local grocery stores here don’t have any. I’ll be down that way on Tuesday when I get my hair done, so I’ll check for them then.

The numbness and stiffness in my legs is still pretty severe. I walk like an old lady. I’m thankful I’m able to walk though, and I’m hoping that through this diet and the Copaxone that by summer I’m able to run.

My sister wants to sign up for the MS-150. It’s a bike ride of 150 miles to raise money for MS research. She’s sick herself with Myasthenia Gravis and she wants to do this for me? I am so touched!! I wish I could do something for her, but right now I can only pray.

A friend of mine calls the conversations my sister and I have about our diseases, “Adventures in Neuropathy.” Hilarious!

I’m pooped. I’m currently reading “The MS Recovery Diet.” It goes a step further than Swank, (and is based on his work) by stating that MS can be healed by taking out known problem foods like allergies or sensitivity causing foods. After reading this so far, I’m thinking of dropping gluten for a while to see if it makes an impact.

TTYL – M. 🙂

This entry was posted in Anniversary, Devic's Disease, Multiple Sclerosis, Neuromyelitis Optica. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

