2 Months? 2 Months and No Update? Well, it’s all good….

The last two months have been great healthwise.  We’ve been VERY busy!  Here’s a quick recap of June and July.

My oldest daughter graduated from grade school and was co-Valedictorian of her class.  I am so proud of her!  She is one smart cookie.  She’ll be continuing on in the same school.  It’s a private Catholic school and goes through 12th grade, so she’ll be staying there.  She’s very excited to be a Freshman next year.

My middle and youngest sons did excellent in school too.  I’m very proud of both of them.  Son #1 is playing baseball and daughter is swimming on the local summer swim team.  We’ve been VERY busy.

We’ve also had multitudes of people over visiting for the summer.  We live in a tourist area, so we expect people to come and visit us (and love every minute of it).   So, we’ve had people visiting from downstate.  I have to say, mentally it’s been wonderful for me.  It’s been good to have reasons to get out of bed every day!

But the most exciting thing that has happened to us over the last couple of months is that we’ve gotten a  new PUPPY!!  His name is Cooper and he is just the love of my life right now.  We got him primarily for me – to keep me occupied during the day and boy, does he do that!  He keeps me so busy!!  He is a golden retriever and was born on April 4th, 2011.   He’s adorable and here he is:

He is a stinker, but he is so loved!!

I’ve also started and graduated from physical therapy.  I went twice a week for about 6 weeks and it was SO HELPFUL!  I feel so much stronger now.  I have to say that physical therapists are SAINTS.  They treated me so well and were so patient with my learning to do things again.  I went from barely being able to stand on one foot (my starting time was 8 seconds per foot) to 123 seconds a foot on graduation day!  That may not sound like a big deal, but to me it’s huge!   I could barely walk the stairs, but now I’m running up them with “almost” no problems.

I still have a long way to go.  I get very tired very easily and I’m still blind in my right eye (I will be forever), but I’m feeling so much better despite the 25 extra pounds I’ve put on since March.  I’m hoping that with the exercises I learned from physical therapy and the work I’m doing at the gym operated by the hospital, I’ll be back on track to good health.

That’s about it for now – will update more later.  🙂

This entry was posted in Devic's Disease, Family, I'm a big dork, Neuromyelitis Optica, NMO, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

