Symptom Update

Pain:  In torso from breastbone to hips – sunburn feeling.  Firm pressure brings it some comfort.  Brushing of my shirt against my skin hurts.  On a scale from 1-10 (10 being severe pain), I think I’m at about a 5 (up from a 3-4 last month).  Pain is on the right side of my abdomen.

Nausea:  none – YAY!

Tiredness:  Scale from 1-10 where 1 is hyper and 10 is exhaustion.  I’m at around a 6 on most days.  This is down from last month.

Emotional:  I’m struggling with guilt.  I have given up everything that I used to volunteer for and I’m kind of feeling lost right now with it.  I feel very well right now, but after talking with other NMO patients and my husband we thought it would be wise for me to take a year off from my commitments so I can concentrate on my health.  Well, it’s HARD and I’m having a hard time right now because of that.

Physical:  I’m feeling stronger but still have a way to go.  Some numbness and tingling when I have any type of jumping or impact exercise.  I think I’m feeling pretty good, though I’m still pretty tired.  When I’m tired I slur my speech and walk with a limp.  I also have a hard time with transitions (sitting to standing, etc), so church can sometimes be difficult.  This hasn’t changed since the last time I posted a symptom update.  I have been going to the gym consistently, and although I haven’t  lost any weight, I do feel much stronger and healthier.

Mentally:  I think I’m doing well, but the memory retention isn’t the best.  I get distracted easily.  Once I get the house in order, I hope to start teaching myself Spanish for fun.  🙂

Other:  I’m still hungry all of the time, but I should start weaning off of the prednisone by the end of the month.  I’m really looking forward to that!

So that’s it for now – I’ll have another update next month! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

